Sailing Programme 2018

We no longer produce a printed programme - you have a number of choices 1. We have a RACE Programme in Google Calendar from which you can export direct to your phone. (Not to be confused with our main diary). 2. Download a PDF here and print the first 5 pages. 3. Go to your browser and print this page.

"I don't want this I want to see the results!"..... then go here.

Sun 4 Mar MAD MARCH PURSUIT- 1 1/2 or full pursuit race at 13:15
Sun 11 Mar SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 1, 2 & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 17 Mar WINDSURFER & SEAVETS OPEN MEETING
Sun 18 Mar SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 4, 5 & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sun 25 Mar SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 7, 8 & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
APRIL  
Sat 31 Mar RITA RICHARDSON SPRING PURSUIT - 2 days (5 half pursuits - 4 to count) races at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 1 Apr RITA RICHARDSON SPRING PURSUIT - 2 days (5 half pursuits - 4 to count) races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Mon 2 Apr EASTER EGG PERSONAL HANDICAP - 3 races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00 (2 to count)
Sat 7 Apr SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 1 & 2 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 8 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 10, 11 & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 14 Apr SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 3 & 4 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 15 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 13, 14 & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 21 Apr SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 5 & 6 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 22 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 16, 17 & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 28 Apr SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 7 & 8 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 29 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 19, 20 & 21 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
MAY  
Sat 5 May SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 9 & 10 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 6 May SPRING SUNDAY SERIES ENDS 22, 23 & 24 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Mon 7 May MAYHEM PURSUIT (3 half pursuits - 2 to count) Races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 12 May PUBLIC OPEN DAY - Opens at 11.00 til 16:00
Sun 13 May SAIL4CANCER PERSONAL HANDICAP - 5 entry for the day, 4 races at 11:00, 12:00, 14:00 & 15:30 (3 to count)
Tue 15 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 17 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 1 starts at 18:30
Sat 19 May SOLO Open
Sun 20 May SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 1, 2 & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 22 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 24 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 2 starts at 18:30
Sat 26 May SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 11 & 12 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 27 May "FAMILY FUN DAY" from 11:00
Mon 28 May HOLLOWELL ROSE BOWL (3 half Pursuits - 2 to count) Races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 29 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 31 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 3 starts at 18:30
JUNE  
Sat 2 June SPRING SATURDAY SERIES ENDS 13 & 14 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 3 June SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 4, 5 & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 5 June EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 7 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 4 starts at 18:30
Sat 9 Jun SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 1 & 2 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 10 Jun SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 7, 8 & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 12 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 14 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 5 starts at 18:30
Sat 16 Jun SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 3 & 4 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 17 Jun LASER OPEN MEETING
Tue 19 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 21 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 6 starts at 18:30
Sat 23 Jun P&B JUNIOR SERIES (Still to be confirmed)
Sun 24 Jun SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 10, 11 & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 26 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 28 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 7 starts at 18:30
Sat 30 Jun SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 5 & 6 at 14:00 & 15:30
JULY  
Sun 1 July SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 13, 14 & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 3 July EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 5 July EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 8 starts at 18:30
Sat 7 Jul TOPPER AND OPTIMIST OPEN
Sun 8 Jul SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 16, 17 & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 10 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 12 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 9 starts at 18:30
Sat 14 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 7 & 8 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 15 Jul SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 19, 20 & 21 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 17 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 19 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 10 starts at 18:30
Sat 21 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 9 & 10 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 22 Jul SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES ENDS, 22, 23 & 24 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 24 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 26 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 11 starts at 18:30
Sat 28 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 11 & 12 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 29 Jul RNLI PERSONAL HANDICAP - £5 entry for the day, 3 races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00 (2 to count)
Tue 31 July EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
AUGUST  
Thu 2 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 12 starts at 18:30
Sat 4 Aug SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 13 & 14 ENDS at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 5 Aug Personal Handicap Trophy 3 races at 11:00,13:15 & 15:00 (2 to count)
Tue 7 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 9 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 13 starts at 18:30
Sat 11 Aug AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 1 & 2 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 12 Aug AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 1, 2 & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 14 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 16 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 14 starts at 18:30
Sat 18 Aug AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 3 & 4 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 19 Aug AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 4, 5 & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 21 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 23 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 15 starts at 18:30
Sat 25 Aug DON HOWARD TROPHY 2 DAYS - (5 RACES - 3 h'cap races plus Pursuit race to count), SATURDAY : Handicap Races at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 26 Aug DON HOWARD TROPHY 2 DAYS - (5 RACES - 3 h'cap races plus Pursuit race to count), SUNDAY : Handicap Races at 11.00 & 13.15 and a full pursuit at 15.00 (double points)
Mon 27 Aug JUNIOR REGATTA & PIRATES DAY start 10:30 & Racing from 1pm
Tue 28 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 30 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 16 starts at 18:30
SEPTEMBER  
Sat 1 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 5 & 6 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 2 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 7 8 & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 4 Sep EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 6 Sep EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 17 starts at 18:30
Sat 8 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 7 & 8 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 9 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 10, 11 & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 11 Sep EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 13 Sep EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 18 starts at 18:30
Sat 15 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 9 & 10 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 16 Sep Sprint Racing (Warwick Trophy-Cransley)
Sat 22 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 11 & 12 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 23 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 13, 14 & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 29 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 13 & 14 Ends at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 30 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 16, 17 & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
OCTOBER  
Sat 6 Oct TWO DAY CLUB CHAMPIONSHIPS (5 handicap races - 4 races to count) SATURDAY Races at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 7 Oct TWO DAY CLUB CHAMPIONSHIPS (5 handicap races - 4 races to count) SUNDAY Races at 11:00, 13.15 & 15:00
Sun 14 Oct AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES ENDS 19, 20 & 21 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sun 21 Oct ICED TANKARD HANDICAP OPEN MEETING - open to any boat, members, & visitors (NO FREE SAILING) See NOR
Sun 28 Oct FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 1, 2, & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
NOVEMBER For Nov and and Dec (starting after the clocks change) 11.00 start (race 45 mins) Lunch 12.00 (shorter break) next race 13:00 short 10 min break and last race 14.30.
Sun 4 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 4, 5, & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 11 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 7, 8, & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 18 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 10, 11, & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 25 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 13, 14, & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
DECEMBER  
Sun 2 Dec FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 16, 17, & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 9 Dec FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES ENDS Race 19 at 10:30
Sun 16 Dec SNOWFLAKE SERIES Handicap Races 1 & 2 at 11:00 & 13:15,
Sun 23 Dec SNOWFLAKE SERIES Handicap Races 3 & 4 at 11:00 & 13:15,
Wed 26 Dec BOXING DAY - Free Sailing And 2 x Thursday night style pursuit races. Sailing from 11:00 till 14:00
Sun 30 Dec SNOWFLAKE SERIES Handicap Races 5 & 6 ENDS at 11:00 & 13:15,

Summary of race series

SPRING SATURDAYS - 14 RACES 6 TO COUNT SUMMER SATURDAYS - 14 RACES 6 TO COUNT
AUTUMN SATURDAYS - 14 RACES 6 TO COUNT SPRING SUNDAYS - 24 RACES 9 TO COUNT
SUMMER SUNDAYS - 24 RACES 9 TO COUNT AUTUMN SUNDAYS - 21 RACES 8 TO COUNT
FROSTBITE SUNDAYS - 19 RACES 7 TO COUNT SNOWFLAKE - 6 RACES 4 TO COUNT

SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

All races are sailed in accordance with the Racing Rules of Sailing and Hollowell Sailing Club's Sailing Instructions, copies of which are available in the clubhouse and here on the DOWNLOADS PAGE

SATURDAY SERIES RACES

All boats race together and their positions are calculated on a HANDICAP BASIS using the Portsmouth Yardstick rating system. A Saturday trophy is awarded to the winner of each Saturday Series (Spring, Summer, Autumn).

SUNDAY SERIES RACES

All boats race together and their recorded placings are used to compute two lots of results as follows:- 1) A Sunday Handicap Trophy is awarded to the overall winner of each Sunday Series using the Portsmouth Yardstick rating system. 2) A Fleet Trophy is awarded to the highest placed boat in each of the Sunday Series in each of the following clases: Laser, Solo, Topper & Sailboard. 3) Handicap Fleet trophies are awarded for highest placed boats in Asymmetric, Symmetric & Single-hander categories.

Prizes for 1st 2nd 3rd and (1st VETERAN, LADY & JUNIOR)

Prizes are awarded in these categories on the basis of all races in the Saturday Series and Sunday Series races throughout the season excluding Frostbite series.

PERSONAL HANDICAP FLEETS & RACES

At the beginning of the year competitors are split into Gold, Silver or Bronze Personal Handicap fleets based on their previous year's race results. Gold fleet sailors will then compete in all PH events off their standard PY number, Silver fleet sailors are awarded 10% extra race time and bronze sailors have 15% extra. Special prizes are also awarded to the highest placed Silver and Bronze fleet sailors in each Sunday series (excluding Frostbite Series) but these are based on their series ranked results using their official PY ratings. Detailed guidelines available.

FROSTBITE HANDICAP SERIES

All boats race against each other and their positions are calculated on a handicap basis using the Portsmouth Yardstick rating.

THURSDAY EVENINGS

Sociable sailing with an informal Personal Handicap race at 18:30 hrs and supper afterwards. See Thursday Ladder