Download our PDF full programme and diary... here

No, I don't want this I want to see the results!.......go here

2017 Sailing Programme

Sun 5 Mar MAD MARCH PURSUIT- 1 1/2 or full pursuit race at 13:15
Sun 12 Mar SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 1, 2 & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sun 19 Mar SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 4, 5 & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sun 26 Mar SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 7, 8 & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
APRIL  
Sat 1 Apr RITA RICHARDSON SPRING PURSUIT - 2 days (5 half pursuits - 4 to count) races at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 2 Apr RITA RICHARDSON SPRING PURSUIT - 2 days (5 half pursuits - 4 to count) races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 8 Apr WINDSURFER & SEAVETS OPEN MEETING
Sun 9 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 10, 11 & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sun 16 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 13, 14 & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Mon 17 Apr EASTER EGG PERSONAL HANDICAP - 3 races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00 (2 to count)
Sat 22 Apr SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 1 & 2 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 23 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 16, 17 & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 29 Apr SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 3 & 4 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 30 Apr SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 19, 20 & 21 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
MAY  
Mon 1 May MAYHEM PURSUIT (3 half pursuits - 2 to count) Races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 2 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Sat 6 May PUBLIC OPEN DAY - Opens at 11.00 til 16:00
Sun 7 May SPRING SUNDAY SERIES 22, 23 & 24 ENDS at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 9 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 11 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 1 starts at 18:30
Sat 13 May SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 5 & 6 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 14 May SAIL4CANCER PERSONAL HANDICAP - 5 entry for the day, 4 races at 11:00, 12:00, 14:00 & 15:30 (3 to count)
Tue 16 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 18 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 2 starts at 18:30
Sat 20 May SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 7 & 8 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 21 May SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 1, 2 & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 23 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 25 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 3 starts at 18:30
Sat 27 May SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 9 & 10 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 28 May "FAMILY FUN DAY" from 11:00
Mon 29 May HOLLOWELL ROSE BOWL (3 half Pursuits - 2 to count) Races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 30 May EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
JUNE  
Thu 1 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 4 starts at 18:30
Sat 3 Jun SPRING SATURDAY SERIES 11 & 12 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 4 Jun SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 4, 5 & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 6 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 8 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 5 starts at 18:30
Sat 10 Jun SPRING SATURDAY SERIES ENDS 13 & 14 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 11 Jun SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 7, 8 & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 13 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 15 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 6 starts at 18:30
Sat 17 Jun SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 1 & 2 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 18 Jun LASER OPEN MEETING (no free sailing)
Tue 20 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 22 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 7 starts at 18:30
Sat 24 Jun ANGLIAN WATER JUNIOR SERIES
Sun 25 Jun SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 10, 11 & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 27 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 29 Jun EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 8 starts at 18:30
JULY  
Sat 1 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 3 & 4 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 2 Jul SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 13, 14 &15 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 4 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 6 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 9 starts at 18:30
Sat 8 Jul TOPPER AND OPTIMIST OPEN
Sun 9 Jul PERSONAL HANDICAP TROPHY - 3 races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00 (2 to count)
Tue 11 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 13 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 10 starts at 18:30
Sat 15 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 5 & 6 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 16 Jul SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 16, 17 & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 18 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 20 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 11 starts at 18:30
Sat 22 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 7 & 8 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 23 Jul SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES 19, 20 & 21 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 25 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 27 Jul EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 12 starts at 18:30
Sat 29 Jul SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 9 & 10 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 30 Jul RNLI PERSONAL HANDICAP - £5 entry for the day, 3 races at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00 (2 to count)
AUGUST  
Tue 1 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 3 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 13 starts at 18:30
Sat 5 Aug SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES 11 & 12 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 6 Aug SUMMER SUNDAY SERIES ENDS, 22, 23 & 24 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 8 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 10 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 14 starts at 18:30
Sat 12 Aug SUMMER SATURDAY SERIES ENDS, 13 & 14 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 13 Aug AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 1, 2 & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 15 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 17 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 15 starts at 18:30
Sat 19 Aug AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 1 & 2 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 20 Aug AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 4, 5 & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Tue 22 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 24 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 16 starts at 18:30
Sat 26 Aug DON HOWARD TROPHY 2 DAYS - (5 RACES - 3 h'cap races plus Pursuit race to count), SATURDAY : Handicap Races at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 27 Aug DON HOWARD TROPHY 2 DAYS - (5 RACES - 3 h'cap races plus Pursuit race to count), SUNDAY : Handicap Races at 11.00 & 13.15 and a full pursuit at 15.00 (double points)
Mon 28 Aug JUNIOR REGATTA & PIRATES DAY start 10:30 & Racing from 1pm
Tue 29 Aug LAST EVENING INFORMAL SAILING from 18.00
Thu 31 Aug EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 17 starts at 18:30
SEPTEMBER  
Sat 2 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 3 & 4 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 3 Sep WARWICK TROPHY AT HOLLOWELL SC (NO FREE SAILING)
Thu 7 Sep LAST EVENING INFORMAL SAILING personal handicap pursuit race 18 starts at 18:30
Sat 9 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 5 & 6 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 10 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 7, 8 & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 16 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 7 & 8 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 17 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 10, 11 & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 23 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 9 & 10 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 24 Sep AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 13, 14 & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 30 Sep AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES 11 & 12 at 14:00 & 15:30
OCTOBER  
Sun 1 Oct AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES 16, 17 & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sat 7 Oct TWO DAY CLUB CHAMPIONSHIPS (5 handicap races - 4 races to count) SATURDAY Races at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 8 Oct TWO DAY CLUB CHAMPIONSHIPS (5 handicap races - 4 races to count) SUNDAY Races at 11:00, 13.15 & 15:00
Sat 14 Oct AUTUMN SATURDAY SERIES ENDS 13 & 14 at 14:00 & 15:30
Sun 15 Oct AUTUMN SUNDAY SERIES ENDS 19, 20 & 21 at 11:00, 13:15 & 15:00
Sun 22 Oct ICED TANKARD HANDICAP OPEN MEETING - open to any boat, members, & visitors (NO FREE SAILING) See NOR
Sun 29 Oct FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 1, 2, & 3 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
NOVEMBER  
Sun 5 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 4, 5, & 6 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 12 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 7, 8, & 9 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 19 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 10, 11, & 12 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 26 Nov FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 13, 14, & 15 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
DECEMBER  
Sun 3 Dec FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES Races 16, 17, & 18 at 11:00, 13:15 & ASAP
Sun 10 Dec FROSTBITE SUNDAY HANDICAP SERIES ENDS Race 19 at 10:30
Sun 17 Dec SNOWFLAKE SERIES Handicap Races 1 & 2 at 11:00 & 13:15,
Tue 26 Dec BOXING DAY - Free Sailing And 2 x Thursday night style pursuit races. Sailing from 11:00 till 14:00
Sat 30 Dec SNOWFLAKE SERIES Handicap Races 3 & 4 at 11:00 & 13:15,
Mon 1 Jan SNOWFLAKE SERIES Handicap Races 5 & 6 at 11:00 & 13:15

Summary of race series

SPRING SATURDAYS - 14 RACES 6 TO COUNT SUMMER SATURDAYS - 14 RACES 6 TO COUNT
AUTUMN SATURDAYS - 14 RACES 6 TO COUNT SPRING SUNDAYS - 24 RACES 9 TO COUNT
SUMMER SUNDAYS - 24 RACES 9 TO COUNT AUTUMN SUNDAYS - 21 RACES 8 TO COUNT
FROSTBITE SUNDAYS - 19 RACES 7 TO COUNT SNOWFLAKE - 6 RACES 4 TO COUNT

Sailing Instructions

All races are sailed in accordance with the Racing Rules of Sailing and Hollowell Sailing Club's Sailing Instructions, copies of which are available in the clubhouse and here on the DOWNLOADS PAGE

SATURDAY SERIES RACES

All boats race together and their positions are calculated on a HANDICAP BASIS using the Portsmouth Yardstick rating system. A Saturday trophy is awarded to the winner of each Saturday Series (Spring, Summer, Autumn).

SUNDAY SERIES RACES

All boats race together and their recorded placings are used to compute two lots of results as follows:- 1) A Sunday Handicap Trophy is awarded to the overall winner of each Sunday Series using the Portsmouth Yardstick rating system. 2) A Fleet Trophy is awarded to the highest placed boat in each of the Sunday Series in each of the following clases: Laser, Solo, Topper & Sailboard. 3) Handicap Fleet trophies are awarded for highest placed boats in Asymmetric, Symmetric & Single-Hander categories.

Prizes for 1st 2nd 3rd and (1st VETERAN, LADY & JUNIOR)

Prizes are awarded in these categories on the basis of all races in the Saturday Series and Sunday Series races throughout the season excluding Frostbite series.

PERSONAL HANDICAP FLEETS & RACES

At the beginning of the year competitors are split into Gold, Silver or Bronze Personal Handicap fleets based on their previous year's race results. Gold fleet sailors will then compete in all PH events off their standard PY number, Silver fleet sailors are awarded 10% extra race time and bronze sailors have 15% extra. Special prizes are also awarded to the highest placed Silver and Bronze fleet sailors in each Sunday series (excluding Frostbite Series) but these are based on their series ranked results using their official PY ratings. Detailed guidelines available.

FROSTBITE HANDICAP SERIES

All boats race against each other and their positions are calculated on a handicap basis using the Portsmouth Yardstick rating.

THURSDAY EVENINGS

Sociable sailing with an informal Personal Handicap race at 18:30 hrs and supper afterwards. See Thursday Ladder